You are here

Local Government

Election 2018: Gabel retains 18th District Representative seat

by Eric DeGrechie, Managing Editor News, Local Government

State Rep. Robyn Gabel, D-Evanston, celebrated a victory Tuesday night in the race for the 18th District seat in Illinois House of Representatives. She defeated Republican challenger Julie Cho, of Wilmette.

As of 11 p.m. Tuesday, Nov. 6,...

Election 2018: Schakowsky wins 11th term as U.S. Rep. for 9th District

by Eric DeGrechie, Managing Editor News, Local Government

U.S. Rep. Jan Schakowsky, D-Evanston, and her supporters gathered at Rock ’N Ravioli in Evanston to watch the returns in the race for the 9th District seat.

Schakowsky, who has held the seat since 1999, defeated Republican challenger John...

Election 2018: Rep. Fine gains state senate seat after defeating Lasonde in District 9

by Megan Bernard, Editor News, Local Government

Rep. Laura Fine, D-Glenview, was voted in as the new state senator representing District 9, a seat vacated by Sen. Daniel Biss, D-Evanston.

After leading with 71.11 percent of the votes (135 of 154 precincts reported as of press time)...